Tags

, , , ,

I just moved to Germany with my husband and daughter last week but I like to think of myself as a New Yorker (upstate) since this is where I grew up and lived for most of my life.  I have lived other places, however. I was born in New Jersey and lived there until I was 5.  I moved to Rhode Island for grad school in 2000 and ended up there for 10 years! How time flies when you are in school and then get a job and your life just seems to roll off ahead of you. I kept my New York driver’s license and license plates and my car took me home twice a month and every year for the summers and holidays. During these times I was even able to maintain a garden there! That I would say is what quintessentially makes me a New Yorker. I know how to work the ground in my part of New York. The soil has no secrets from me there. I can tell where a good place to plant would be, where there would be enough light and where it wouldn’t get too flooded or to dry to sustain plants. I know how the soil behaves and what to do when it cracks or gets too muddy. I know how to dig up turf and shake out the loamy-clay soil and till it into an inviting bed that will be the beginning of a new home for all my vegetables and herbs.

Garden001

In my garden

