Tags

, , , ,

My backyard garden

The weather this month has been pretty terrible. According to the locals, this part of  Germany hasn’t been this cold in May for nearly 70 years! It rained for almost two weeks straight and was so cold that I had to wear a winter coat every time I left the house. It felt strange bundling up to go out to work in the garden. It is a half hour drive from our apartment to the community garden plot that we are using this year and because of that it has been tough to get my husband, Anna and myself out to the garden more than once or twice a week. Two weeks ago when we were there it was so cold and windy that I felt like we were out working in the arctic tundra. We didn’t do much that day. Last week when we went we were lucky enough to arrive between rain showers and were able to do a little weeding but ended up bringing home more mud with us than all the produce in our garden added together at this point. It is ridiculous how this particular soil, when wet, clings to your shoes and won’t let go. I had a heck of a time getting the mud off my feet once we left the garden, which is strange because the dirt managed to find its way from my shoes to every possible place imaginable from the car floor to the kitchen tiles! The weather this week, however, took a complete 180 degree turn for the better. It has been sunny, warm, just a bit breezy and almost hot at times. It has been perfect gardening weather. I have decided to put some plants in the backyard even though we have very limited space available to us there. The upstairs neighbor, a woman from Oberschlesien (formerly part of the German Empire until the early part of the 20th century when it was restored to Poland), is a little strict about how we divide up the yard. She has been living in this apartment building for quite a long time now and has used up most of the sunny side of the yard to plant her flowers. So I have access to two small beds next to the house and a narrow space along the fence between her plants and a stone path. I much prefer to be able to wander outside when I want to pick a tomato or need some basil than have to drive for 30 minutes to make a quick salad so I am planting all my herbs, some tomatoes, zucchini, beans and various lettuces in what limited backyard space I can retain. This way it will be much easier for me to find my way back to the garden.

