Tags

, , , ,

Vegan pancakes with strawberries

When I was little I remember waking up on Saturday mornings to the smell of pancakes cooking. My mom would usually get up before us and make homemade pancakes for me and my brothers and sisters on the weekend. We would come downstairs following the sweet scent of fried dough and simmering maple syrup. Since there were five of us (and eventually six) my mom always cut the syrup in half with butter to make it last and when I would arrive in the kitchen I would see the large, round, rising cakes on the frying pan and the bubbling, amber syrup in a pot next to it on the stove. Some weekends my dad would make us omelets or eggs with bacon but Saturday morning pancakes were my favorite. The pancakes were usually the size of saucers and very light and fluffy. My siblings and I would stack several of them on our plates in the fashion of a tower and then cut them into a grid of squares before pouring on the maple-butter, blended syrup. My favorite bites were the perfect squares from the center of the pancake tower. Oftentimes when we didn’t have syrup, or not much of it, we would accompany our fluffy round clouds of breakfast heaven with unsweetened apple sauce. The cool accompaniment with the hot dough was even better than the caramel colored syrup so commonly used on pancakes. My mom would also put add-ins per our request, depending on what we had on hand. Usually round slices of banana dropped into the dough on the pan or blueberries mixed into the batter while still in the bowl. We would then all settle down in the living room together with our steaming, hot stacks of Saturday morning goodness to watch reruns of The Dukes of Hazzard and The Three Stooges. Saturdays never tasted any better.

Vegan pancakes with bananas

Since I have a dietary restriction of no dairy because of my daughter Anna’s milk protein allergy I was looking for a decent pancake recipe that uses no dairy products. This recipe, adapted from RecipeZaar, makes the best pancakes I have had (aside from my moms of course) and without eggs, milk and butter it’s guilt free. Almost.

The Best (Vegan) Pancakes

1 cup flour

1 tablespoon sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 cup soy milk

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

1/4 cup ground flax meal

Combine the dry ingredients. Whisk in the soy milk and the oil. Pour small amounts of the dough onto a hot frying pan that is  liberally greased with your favorite butter substitute (I like Earth Balance the best) or oil and that sizzles when you add the batter. When the pancakes start to bubble flip and cook for another minute or so. Add fresh fruit or maple syrup at the table. Enjoy!

