Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Rhubarb is in season again, yay! I love rhubarb, in pies and in cakes, usually paired with strawberries but it’s also great on its own as a bitter accompaniment to anything sweet. This week marks the two year anniversary of my blog and when I started blogging on the 16th of April 2010 this tart treat is one of the first things that I posted about, with a recipe for rhubarb crisp.

I left my garden where I used to live, in upstate New York, behind that year to come to Germany with my husband Thomas and our then 6 month old daughter Anna to spend some time where my husband comes from and learn how to grow a garden on foreign soil. Two years later I am still trying to figure out how to manage a decent garden here in Germany, how to work the soil, battle off the deer, rabbits, moles and slugs that pervade and how to find the time to tend to a garden at all while taking care of an active 2 1/2 year old! It’s been a challenging 2 years, but we have been lucky enough to have a balcony garden each year with lettuces, herbs, carrots and strawberries, we were part of an organic community garden in the Cologne area two summers back and last year we found a plot of land down the street, not far from where we are staying, and were given permission by the land manager to start a garden of our own there! I am looking forward to starting up our garden there again this spring and I hope that this year will bring more insight into what grows well on our newly found little piece of land far far away from the place that I call home.

Strawberry-Rhubarb “Kuchen”

For the Crust

  • 1 cup Flour
  • 1/2 cup Almond Meal*
  • 3/4 cup Sugar
  • 2 Tbs + 1 tsp Corn Starch
  • 2 1/4 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 packet of Vanilla Sugar or (1 tsp vanilla extract)
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1 stick (113 grams) cold Butter cut into small pieces

*To make almond meal grind almond pieces or slivers in a coffee grinder or food mill.

Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl with a whisk. Then add the butter (and vanilla extract) and cut into the flour mixture with a pastry cutter or two knives until the mixture is crumbly and the butter is pea sized or smaller. Press the crumble into the bottom of a greased square or 6×10 inch rectangular pan.

For the Filling

  • 3 stalks Rhubarb cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 1 pound or 500 grams Strawberries cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1 1/4 cups Sour Cream
  • 1 Free Range Egg
  • 1/4 cup Sugar *plus extra for sprinkling (optional)
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon

Lay the rhubarb on top of the crumb bottom and press in gently then layer the strawberries on top of the rhubarb. Mix the other ingredients together in a bowl and pour the sour cream mixture evenly over top of the fruit.

Alternately:

Pour the sour cream mixture over the crumb bottom and then layer the rhubarb and strawberries on top. Sprinkle the top of the fruit lightly with sugar.

*I have made this recipe both ways and I prefer the first method with the sour cream mixture on top of the fruit better but both come out very good. Also, I would recommend using a square or rectangular baking dish or cake pan which worked out much better than a round pie plate for me.

Bake in a preheated oven at 350° Fahrenheit for 1 hour. Allow to cool slightly before serving. Guten Appetit!

