Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Garlic Lover's Hummus

When we were in upstate New York a few weeks back for Easter I went to the alternative food co-op in Cooperstown with my mom and did a little shopping there for the first time ever, as my parents live about half an hour away from Cooperstown and the shop is relatively new by my standards. I love shopping at health food stores and food co-ops, especially ones that surprise me by carrying Bobbi’s Best Hummus in their fridge section. I was first introduced to hummus when I was a teenager, which you can read all about here, and fell immediately in love with it and its creamy goodness. However, for all my years as a hummus connoisseur I was in no way prepared for what I experienced several years after my first encounter with this delectable spread when I tried this particular hummus for the first time. I was an undergrad studying mathematics at SUNY New Paltz at the time when I stopped in at the local health food store to grab a container of hummus. I was short on time and had to make a quick choice from the many brands and types that they had there, I saw the words “garlic” and “best” and thought this sounds good to me… well, when I got home with my container of Bobbi’s Best Garlic Hummus and tried it out it was a heavenly experience, let me tell you. This hummus was so garlicky and smooth, a bit lemony and had a touch of heat from the cracked pepper, I was in awe by how delicious this was. This is not only my all time favorite hummus but possibly one of my all time favorite foods. I was craving more the minute it was gone and when I moved to Rhode Island for graduate school I was devastated to find out that the local food co-op there didn’t carry Bobbi’s Hummus at all and refused to order it! I was in a sad state of affairs. This is not an easy product to find and I have only seen this particular hummus being sold at not even a handful of alternative food stores along the East coast. Every time I find some I stock up, buying sometimes four or five containers of the stuff at a time… yes it’s that good.

Here is my version of garlic hummus for those of you craving this tasty spread. It came out very tasty and garlicky and even my two year old loves it, so give it a try!

Chickpeas

Lots of Fresh Garlic and Lemons

Tortilla Wedges for Dipping

Garlic Lover’s Hummus

Adapted from This Recipe

  • 2 Cups Chickpeas
  • 3/4 Cup Tahini
  • 4 Cloves of fresh Garlic
  • 3 Lemons juiced
  • 1/4 Cup Vegetable Oil or other light tasting Oil
  • 1 1/2 Tsp Salt
  • Freshly ground Pepper

Combine all the ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth. If the mixture is too thick add a little bit of water or more lemon juice to the blender and process again. Serve immediately with pita, chips or tortilla wedges. Store in an airtight container in the fridge for up to one week. Enjoy!

