Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My mom was visiting me here in Germany for two and a half weeks with my brother Richard and just left to go back home last Wednesday. I am sad to see her go but luckily for me my brother, Richard is staying with us for the whole summer to start an internship at the computer firm where my husband works as a programmer, just outside the city of Cologne. Coincidentally my husband and my brother happen to both be vegetarians so I’ll be loading up on the veggies this summer, in the oven and on the grill, to suit everybody’s tastes. When my mom was here she really enjoyed all the great German sausages and meat dishes that you can get here but one of her favorite meals was this veggie bake that I made right before she went back home. It can be served as a side alongside steamed fish, how my mother and I enjoyed it, or on its own with some rice or other wholesome grain for a more complete meal. Use vegetables that you have on hand and ones that are in season and follow the basic steps outlined below and you can’t go wrong with this heaping platter of tasty goodness.

Roasted Vegetables

Peel and roughly cut an assortment of mostly root and other vegetables.

I used Carrots, Onions, Garlic, Sweet Potatoes, Potatoes, Fennel and Green Peppers.

Drizzle with Olive Oil so that all the vegetables are covered with a little bit of oil.

Sprinkle with dried herbs of your choice, I used Dill.

Coat the vegetables with an even layer of Salt and freshly ground Pepper.

Bake in a preheated oven at 475°F (240°C) for about half an hour or until everything is soft and golden brown.

Serve hot.

Guten Appetit!

