Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I love rhubarb. It is one of my all-time favorites for pies, crumbles, tarts, compotes etc. Right now in Germany it has become readily available at the markets again. Yea! I know there is a brief window for fresh rhubarb in the spring and from what I’ve experienced here it is virtually impossible to get it at any other time of the year, so I take advantage of getting some of it whenever I can. I am abstaining from all sweets and processed sugars until the beginning of Easter but I do make an exception on Sundays and allow myself one indulgence (which had always been the tradition in my family as I was growing up and as I typically gave up ice cream and/or television as a kid during Lent it was tough to make it to Sunday!). This Sunday I plan to use the several stalks of rhubarb that are waiting for me in the kitchen to make myself a tasty crisp.

Rhubarb Crisp

For the Filling

  • 6-8 Stalks of Rhubarb

  • 1/4 cup Orange Juice

  • 1/3 cup Muscovado Sugar (Natural Cane Sugar), Turbinado or Brown Sugar

  • 1 Egg

  • 2 Tbs Corn Starch

  • 2 Tbs Vanilla Extract, 1 packet of Dr. Oetker’s Bourbon Vanilla Extract
    or the seeds from 1 Vanilla Bean

  • 1 tsp Cinnamon (optional)

For the Crumble Topping

  • 1 cup all purpose Flour

  • 2 Tbs ground Flax Seed

  • 1/4 cup Muscovado Sugar (Natural Cane Sugar) or Brown Sugar

  • 1 stick (about 113 grams) cold Butter

Preheat the oven to 375° F (190° C). Clean and cut the rhubarb into 1/4-1/2 inch pieces and put into a large bowl. In a small bowl combine the sugar and starch until well combined. Toss the rhubarb with the sugar mixture until well coated. Beat the egg and add the orange juice and vanilla extract and mix well with the rhubarb until everything is coated. Transfer the rhubarb to a pie plate or large tart pan. In another large bowl prepare the crumble topping by mixing the flour with the ground flax seed and the sugar. Cut the butter into tablespoon sized pieces and add to the flour mixture. With a pastry cutter, two knives or a food processor cut the butter into the flour until pieces no larger than the size of large peas remain. Layer the crumble topping evenly over the rhubarb but do not press down. Bake for 50-60 minutes or until the filling is bubbling and the top is browned.

Rhubarb

Rhubarb

Cutting the Butter

Rhubarb crisp

Crumble Topping

Out of the oven

Enjoy!

 

