Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I made a peach cobbler today. I have often made peach pie, peach crumble and even peach crisp but never a true, in the Southern sense of the term, cobbler. The first time I made an actual cobbler was a few years back when I was visiting with friends in Rhode Island. We had just moved to Germany that Spring and in the Summer Thomas, Anna and I had made a trip back to the States to visit with family and friends. Peaches were in season and abundant at the local farmer’s market there. Since we were staying in a summer rental I wanted a quick and easy recipe that didn’t require the use of any fancy kitchen gadgets and wasn’t too fussy. The recipe I found online for this cobbler was so simple and delicious that I really couldn’t believe I hadn’t ever tried making one before. Peaches have been in season at the markets here lately but have varied widely in quality, unfortunately. I have had several go bad on me before they have even gotten the chance to fully ripen. I started off with five peaches that I was eagerly waiting on to ripen when one started to go “South” on me today. I had to act fast… what better way than with a cobbler?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My very first cobbler
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Easy Peach Cobbler

Adapted from Southern Living’s Easy Peach Cobbler

1 stick of Butter (113 grams)
1 1/4 cups of Flour
1 cup of sugar divided
1 Tbs of Baking Powder
1/8 tsp Salt
1 cup of Milk
4 large fresh Peaches
Juice from 1 Lemon
1 tsp of Cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 375°F (190°C). Place in a large pie plate or a square or rectangular baking dish (about 13×9 inches) a stick of butter. Put the baking dish with the butter in the oven while it’s preheating to melt the butter. When it has melted remove the dish from the oven. Don’t forget about it or the butter will burn. Remove the skin and pits from the peaches and cut into thin slices. Place the peach slices in a bowl and toss with lemon juice, 1/4 cup of sugar and cinnamon. In another medium sized bowl combine the flour, the rest of the sugar (3/4 cup), the baking powder and the salt until well combined. Mix the milk into the flour mixture until just combined and no more large clumps of flour remain. Do not over mix. Pour the flour-milk mixture over the melted butter in the baking dish (don’t stir it in just pour it on top). Lay the peaches out on top of the mixture evenly, including any juices. Bake for 50-60 minutes or until the top is golden brown and the center has firmed up. Serve warm or at room temperature. Store any leftovers in the fridge.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
— Today’s peach cobbler

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

